Tags

, , , , , , ,

So finally after procrastinating Japanese language learning for years, I ‘officially’ signed up for Japanese classroom sessions here in Hyderabad. We had our first session today and it was awesome in spite of the class being scheduled at a very early time, 7:30 am and you can guess how hard it could be for a person like me who is not an early bird.

I hope to share each of my class experience with these blog posts, I hope it’s helpful to someone out there. If you are interested you can study with me by following these posts.

What did we learn? First, Nakamura sensei started off by teaching us Japanese greetings which I described below..

ohayoo gozaimasu! (Morning)
konnichiwa! (afternoon)
konbawa! (evening)
sayoonara! (Good bye!)

watashi wa Masaki desu. (I am Masaki)

Onamae wa nan desu ka?
(namae = name)
(nan = what?)

Sumimasen! (Excuse me!)
arigatou gozaimasu! (Thank you!)
doo itashimashite! (You are welcome!)

Of course, you must be familiar with all of these expressions if you are already into Japanese language or stuff. By the way, we did not start learning Hiragana yet so she was teaching Japanese in romanized form.

Meanwhile, she also taught us that we have to address other people using a suffix ‘san’ along with their name. Then she made us say the following expressions among ourselves,

hajimemashite!
watashi wa prash desu.
yoroshiku onegaishimasu.

She then asked us what do we know about Japanese culture or places, and asked my classmates to find and show us where is India and Japan in the huge world map we had in that room (which was a board meeting room, as it was a Japanese company office). They had some difficulty finding Japan on the map, I helped them though :p

We then started discussing few places located in Japan like Tokyo, Nagoya (an industrial place), Okinawa (she said this is an important place to remember), Hokkaido, Osaka and she drew a map of Japan on the board and started marking out the cities in Japan.

JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test)

Conducted twice in an year, once in the month of July and again in December. There are 5 levels of JLPT

N1, N2 (These 2 are the advance levels and we are expected to know 2000 Kanji here)
N3 (Intermediate)
N4 & N5 (beginner levels, we learn scripts for N5)

Hiragana (45 characters)  & Katakana (45) both are based on sounds but Kanji (1000 + ~) have both sound & meaning.

Then she wrote Japanese numbers from 0 to 10 and asked us to remember in 3 minutes. Yes, just in 3 minutes. I wondered if I could do that, when she erased the Japanese words for numbers and asked us to recall them, I was able to recall all of them, so it seems like if we really want to remember then we can.

0 zero (ree)
1 ichi
2 ni
3 san
4 yon (shi)
5 go
6 roku
7 nana (shichi)
8 hachi
9 kyuu (ku)
10 juu

watashi no denwabangoo wa [5690-3544] desu.
(My number is [5690-3544])
– (hyphen) = no.